How to survive finals week

How
to survive finals week

The most stressful time of the year has arrived and getting through the last five
days may seem harder than getting through the last 15 weeks. Anxiety builds,
headaches throb and eyes grow heavy as most students probably get the least
amount of sleep during this time. I found these tips to be helpful in getting
through tests and projects, which feel like they are never going to end.

  • First
    off, if you’re not going to go to bed early because you’re studying late, make
    sure to have cookies on hand. Cookies taste delicious and they have sugar in
    them to keep you a little hyper and motivated to keep on working.
  • Exercise
    is a great way to relieve built up stress and helps balance out all the cookies
    you’ll be consuming. This doesn’t even have to be an intense hour long work
    out.  Take a study break and go walk a
    few laps on the track around the block. Throughout the week bike in the gym for
    thirty minutes. This helps relax your body and take your mind off the week.
  • I
    know some people like to study for eight hours straight in the library, but I
    have found that just makes me feel crazier. I find that if you study for two
    hours then go run an errand or go talk to a friend for an hour and then come
    back and study for another couple of hours, your feel replenished. This helps
    to study at a fresh start more than once.
  • The
    weekend before finals weeks plan out when each test is and when you are going
    to study for each test. If you have a study schedule it makes it easier to not
    get overwhelmed in lost in the information you have to shove in your head. This
    helps focus on one class and subject at one time instead of just randomly
    choosing and switching between subjects.
  • Taking
    naps even for 15 minutes helps to. This also replenishes and relaxes the brain,
    which is the most important thing to do during this week. Your brain can’t be
    wired for five days straight, you just won’t make it. I’ve even passed out in
    the library for a little quickie nap, no one will bother you.
  • The
    best way I found studying information helps is talking to yourself. This
    probably seems odd, but it helps. You retain information easier when you hear
    it said over and over. I usually pace my living room and read my quiz cars out
    loud to myself until I memorize the whole card. Remembering information in a
    more conversational way helps focus your mind on what you’re doing.

I have done finals weeks many different ways and I have found that these are a
few of the best tips I have discovered to get through the week. Summer is almost
here and all the hard work you have been doing is about to pay off. Relax and
enjoy it.


Leave a comment